Any help? ICT text based system / GUI / FTP ?

14 replies
Found 26th May 2009
Hiya, im studying a level ict And have been looking though the book but i still can't understand what a Text based intereface is and a Graphics user interface?

And a File transfer protocol?
(been looking online and still don't understand)

and help, (rep will be given) try and keep it basic guys as i get confused easily

THANKS!

1. Misc
Groups
  1. Misc
14 Comments

Maybe change the title to one that has some information in it?

Original Poster

Bump PLEASE GUYS

FTP is the process of transferring files from one place to another. It's the protocol of transfer, usually between servers or from a PC to a web server

A text based interface is like a command prompt. Think DOS. Using text commands and getting a text reply.

A GUI is object oriented, it's like windows xp. Think of pop ups and icons for files, etc. It's graphics and prettier than text based interfaces.

Simples

Original Poster

bazzaric;5325626

FTP is the process of transferring files from one place to another. It's … FTP is the process of transferring files from one place to another. It's the protocol of transfer, usually between servers or from a PC to a web server

Rep given Im still not gettng the text one

graphic interface is like Windows - using images, folders, icons to interact.
text based is like Terminal in Linux or the old DOS systems.
ftp is the standard used to transfer data - normally to a web server host.

FTP does get some getting your head around. Think of it as simply being the name given when you want to move files from your computer to a computer somewhere else (it can be used across a network but isn't normally in a home network)

Original Poster

Thanks everyone i think im getting it little ict peeps on here are great!

Original Poster

ok,, one more does anyone know what a dumb terminal or telnet is ?

basically, to copy a file from one place to another: