Anyone recommend a place for cheap radiators and any info on changing singles to new doubles please?

Found 30th Jan
Community Updates
  1. Ask
Groups
  1. Ask
12 Comments
Original Poster
I’m after changing these radiators myself so I can have shiny new ones to go with the room once I redecorate it. I’ve never done it before so any advice would be great thanks
Homebase were selling them for £45 or £55 for doubles in the sale recently?
They look like "Myson Premier Roundtop HE Radiators." Quality radiator - nice looking with the round top. I am guessing yours look like single panels without any convector (fins on the back to increase the heat transfer area).

directheatingsupplies.co.uk/mys…ors

Simplest thing to do is purchase the same brand of radiator, same size (height/width) - that should fit on the existing wall fittings and need minimal adjustment of the piping. If you are after more heat output you can get a single convector, a double radiator (with a single convector) or a double with a double convector.

For your size radiator have a look on the above link under the specs for the BTU output (this is how much heat can be output from each radiator). There are guides online on how much heat a room needs based on floor area and no. outside walls etc - have a google to find. This will tell you what type of radiator you will need - single....... double (double convector).

Actually changing the radiator is a straight forward mechanical job - but the fittings for the radiator valves will be further from the wall than at present. These dimensions will be on the above link and will tell you whether you will be able to just spring the pipework (force) to fit or whether some modification is necessary - you will likely be able to spring for a single convector but a double panel will likely need the pipework to me modded to move further from the wall. Pipework mods are simple if you've cut and soldered copper pipes before - if not perhaps more than a beginners project!