Anyone recommend a protein?

Posted 3rd May
I’m a newbie when it comes to protein and weight loss.
My goal is to shift 15-20kg (I’m overweight and this will bring me into the “normal” weight category.
My plan is to start lifting some weights and running 3 times a week using the NHS couch to 5k podcast.
I’m assuming diet whey is the better option?
Not sure if it makes any difference but I’m in my 30s, female.

Any recommendations?
Community Updates
Ask

Groups

15 Comments
Start with the basics, download myfitnesspal app for calorie tracking and then invest in something like a fitbit to monitor an average burn throughout the day. The key is being in deifcit instead of a protein shake. But if you want to add shakes then myprotein is a cheap option
Worth getting protein shake if using as a meal replacement. PhD diet whey is a good choice but there are cheaper and more basic options.
Personally I wouldn’t use a supplement for what you want - a protein diet will make you shred the fat. replacing meals with shakes will not work for someone like you - why? Because you are overweight and if you can manage to have 20kg of excess fat then you certainly do not have self control over your food for now. Ofcourse this can change but not from being obese to normal - it’s too extreme.
As mentioned above, start with the basics and do not eat rubbish.

Good luck op!
Want to know the only way to loose weight?
Callorie deficit, get in a callorie deficit and you'll lose weight.

Find out your macros and plan your food from there, use a protein powder if you are struggling to hit your macros.
If your struggling to hit your carb macros then buy cns cream of rice.

Also please don't look at bmi btw.

Good luck on journey, don't go down the fat burner route because only 1 or 2 work and they're percentile
Edited by: "Jordan_Taylor" 3rd May
Best thing to do is go for jogging and indoors try do HIIT workout. Only way plus reduce carbs.
rimalpatel00703/05/2020 21:56