Anyone use whatsapp?

Found 12th Sep 2017
I have been using whatsapp for the last 6 months and think it is a great tool to communicate, especially sending photos, videos and files as you can just choose the photos, videos, files from your phone and off it goes instantly over wifi so does not cost for multi media message sending over SMS for example.

When I give someone my mobile number, I am on their whatsapp contact list but they ask me if it is OK for them to contact me over whatsapp, which I find an odd question as I would have thought that if I gave them my mobile number, it does not matter if they contact me via phonecall, SMS or whatsapp. Therefore I get the impression that people tend to use whatsapp only for personal communication and not for all communication, unlike emails, SMS or phone calls.

Am I right in thinking this? If you use whatsapp, do you use it the way you would use SMS and email for example or do you tend to keep it only for personal communication with friends?
Community Updates
Ask
11 Comments
no one has ever asked If thy can use Whatsapp to contact me , they just do.
Yeah, I use WhatsApp, it's probably better than sending SMS too. Mainly been using it to keep in touch with family and friends, it's very handy. The advantage with WhatsApp is that you can have group conversations whereas with SMS tends to be mainly individual.

The only downside, if you'd like to call it that, is you get loads of messages one after the other occasionally which can be annoying though I do tend to leave the notification sounds off and just leave on vibrate which makes it more bearable.

Definitely better for sending photos too as you've pointed out.
Edited by: "LemonHead" 12th Sep 2017