Apple iMac 24 4.5k model

Posted 12th Jan 2023
Hi,

I was wondering if someone could help me with a few questions regarding the imac 24 - this one is what I am referring to - apple.com/uk/…6gb

I am moving from Windows, so this is completely new to me. Getting my head around the OS won't be an issue but all the new connections is something that I need to get my head around. I think the 8gb, 256GB 7-core will be sufficient for me - I only need it for work purposes. I am a writer, who works on word/google docs and carries out research. The only programmes I use are Skype, email, Teams and Chrome - that is about it.

I have had enough of Windows, their updates, my system getting bogged down and so, I want something that is less irritating. My current All in one has 8GB, so it has the same RAM but speaking with another writer who uses a the previous model of iMac, they don't have any issues at all.

So, I have some questions to ask and would really appreciate some guidance and help. All of these questions are based on the basic model with two ports.

1 - Does the mouse and keyboard connect using Bluetooth? I thought they did but I had a look in Currys and their keypad was connected by cable. If this is the case, then that is taking up one port which does cause an issue.

2 - I work with two monitors and I have to keep it that way. My current "second" monitor is connected via HDMI. I have been helped by a few other members on here but if I was to purchase one of these - https://www.hotukdeals.com/visit/comment/49288278/17350120 is this easy to set up and will it solve my problems

3- I have a removable pen drive that stores all of my documents, would I have any issues using this on an imac and would I lose the data stored on there?

If anyone has any advice or help it would be much appreciated.
Community Updates
Ask
New Comment

2 Comments

's avatar
    1. If you buy the Magic Mouse and Magic Keyboard (as per your link), then yes, they are Bluetooth.