Baby Scan - 21 Weeks - Bilateral Choroid Plexus Cysts found - Update on Rescan 3rd July - 28wks tomorrow...

31 replies
Found 19th May 2009
I had my 21 week scan this morning,didn't ask if boy or girl as never asked before with other two. Anyway the found the baby to have Choroid Plexus Cysts on the brain there is 1 either side so is Bilateral. They can't find any other abnormalities so say they probably nothing,I'm due to be scanned again at 28wks time.
Anyone else had these found on their baby? I could tell there was something wrong when she checked the brain and could see myself and I'm no expert,but know these were not on my other 2,also the scan took much longer than the other 2.

i'm 29 and had combined blood screening tests and nuchal scan at 12 wks and my Trisomy 21 ( Downs syndrome ) result was 1:19940 and Trisomy 13+18 ( Edwards syndrome ) was 1:165171 so very low results my midwife said.

Based on my screening tests I've had done,I've decided against having an amnio if this is suggested to me,also because at moment they can't find any other abnormalities on ultrascan. I would rather nature takes it's course,abortion is not for me,so don't see the point of having an amnio done,specially wiht other investigations coming up low.

Baby is breech at moment but I guessed that myself as been really high up and I was certain upright and not transverse, and can feel it's feet kicking some little flutters lower down. I'm totally amazed by it just like the other 2 and hope he/she is ok in there.

30 Comments

I believe the cysts are not harmful. My downs results came back high and i did have an amnio. I would personally have an amnio again if the need arises, as to have 20 weeks of constant worry and not knowing, would result in i myself being ill which would not be good for the baby.

Sending you all the luck in the world.......I'm sure that he/she will be okay in there