Groups

Because I know you're all smart... help with using TV as a second monitor. :)

Ok, I have done a bit of googling on this but seem to be getting conflicting info.

I have a decent pc but a carpyish oldish tv, not a fancy plasma or lcd. can I use the tv as a second monitor? what connectors and wires would I need?
    Basically I have some videos I took in avi format I'd like to be able to watch on the tv without first formatting to a dvd.

Is it possible without buying a HD tv? lol

7 Comments

depends on so much, graphics card, tv inputs etc.
    You will always get a rubbish picture though :-(

Some info here but it's not an easy thing to do. Best off buying a cheap tft monitor imho

ask.metafilter.com/988…tor

has your tv got the three colour inputs on the side or back? i was told to use vga from laptop to those-but then found vga on my tv too as its a new tv..

im not technical as you can tell!

Yes as I do it

You need a graphics card that has a TV out port. That will either be a standard ]composite cable or ]S Video

Depending on your TV either one of them may just plug straight into your TV if not you need one of ]these to go into your scart socket

The only problem then is the sound is coming from your PC speakers and not your TV. To get around that I have one of ]these I then connect my speakers normally to that and then in the other socket one of ]these.

So you have your video cable coming from your graphics card and then two from your sound card. Buy a nice long ]composite cable then connect it all up, you may new a few adapters though ot get the right ends on you cable

Original Poster

I do have the three coloured inputs things on the tv, but I think the wii uses them?

My graphics card is an nvidia 8800gt, I'll have to get behind pc and have a look at the ports.

Sound isnt really a problem as i have the pc set through the stereo speakers anyway.

ChipSticks;3063775