Being a named driver on daughter's car insurance

Found 28th Apr 2015
My daughter is looking in to getting her first car - just passed her test. She has asked me to be a named driver on her insurance to get a lower premium. I've had a look and it would knock off £117 a year for her. I have insurance with my own car (with a different company). I don't know if I ever will actually drive her car during the year anyway, but just a bit concerned if she is driving and she is at fault for something. Being a named driver (even though I probably won't drive her car), if something happens and she is at fault and legal action is taken against her on a claim, am I responsible for any cost as well, and would it affect my no claims discount on my own car insurance (with another company). If something were to happen (daughter's faulty), on my insurance renewal for next year, would I have to declare that an accident occurred whilst I was a named driver on my daughter's policy (and would it then affect my own no claims bonus)? Thank you.
Community Updates
15 Comments
I`m a named driver on both our sons cars
As is my partner
Brings the premium down and have used the car on the odd occasion so also handy
Funny enough I have my sons car at work today as he is away
If your daughter crashes then its nothing to do with you unless your driving
Hth
The simple answer is you will not have any liability, unless you are the driver at the time of the accident. I have used this with both my kids and saved hundreds, and whilst my daughter has had zero accidents my son has written off five cars in 2 years - (and they say gender doesn't matter on insurance!!!) but because i was not the driver i have had no communication from the insurance company. Another positive thing is that if you are a nemed driver you can call the insurance company to make changes to the policy and the data protection act allows this. I hope this helps.