Unfortunately, this discussion is no longer valid
Expired

Best 'budget' 3D printer?

Posted 5th Apr
Hi,

I have been looking at getting a budget 3D printer. I'm a complete amateur when it comes to 3D printers and trying to learn. I have looked at Longer Cube 2, Steadytech Mini, Geeetech E180, MP Select mini, AnyCubic I3 Mega and Ender 3. I can't make my mind up. I know these are quite different in terms of size etc, I wouldnt mind something smaller, but of course bigger gives more flexibility.

Looking for something to make some cheap parts, low running costs, but good quality prints.

Has anyone got any of these 3D printers or would recommend any others?

Thanks!
Community Updates
Ask

Groups

17 Comments
The creality Ender 3 and the Pro seem to be the printers of choice. I’ve seen prices from £130-£165 depending on model. Two of my work mates have them and the quality that they can produce is incredible.
40306651-8ofFv.jpg
40306651-Kw6Bp.jpg
DRRP05/04/2020 13:01

[Image] [Image]

Print quality looks great!
Yeah I was impressed by it. I believe the open source software also has pre defined settings for the printer, so once you build up the printer itself a the software side is fairly straight forward. It’s Cura that I’ve used in the past but there are loads of other options.

There are loads of great YouTube videos that talk you through the building/configuration as well.
DRRP05/04/2020 13:27

Yeah I was impressed by it. I believe the open source software also has …Yeah I was impressed by it. I believe the open source software also has pre defined settings for the printer, so once you build up the printer itself a the software side is fairly straight forward. It’s Cura that I’ve used in the past but there are loads of other options.There are loads of great YouTube videos that talk you through the building/configuration as well.