Best computer for photo editing and storage?

Posted 25th Oct
What computer would anyone recommend to edit photos with - mine is ancient so need to get a new one and have no idea where to start.

thanks
Community Updates
Ask

Groups

18 Comments
Sorry I’m a novice -
not sure tower or desktop
budget £800

not sure what to look for re graphics etc

thanks
emmasea25/10/2019 17:17

Sorry I’m a novice - not sure tower or desktopbudget £800not sure what to l …Sorry I’m a novice - not sure tower or desktopbudget £800not sure what to look for re graphics etcthanks

Anything will do. You're not doing anything demanding if your computer has become 'ancient' before you've needed to replace it so it's just a case of getting something with enough storage.

Graphics card would only matter in terms of screen compatibility, photo editing programs generally use the CPU rather than the graphics processor (the latter is more for real time graphics rather than editing recorded graphics).
Edited by: "EndlessWaves" 25th Oct
thank you!
emmasea25/10/2019 17:17

Sorry I’m a novice - not sure tower or desktopbudget £800not sure what to l …Sorry I’m a novice - not sure tower or desktopbudget £800not sure what to look for re graphics etcthanks

Struth, low-end photo-ed? Swap-out the existing HDD with a £20 SSD. Job done. If the user wants to be flamboyant, throw some more RAM at it. Have a party with the £550 saved.
So I have an old dell with windows xp!! So that’s why I was going to buy a new pc as this one is about 8 years old maybe more?
I am a very keen photographer and have recently invested in some really good kit so just want to upgrade my old pc
Why you have to be rude beats me - probably likes to belittle people
emmasea25/10/2019 20:41

Whoa there! Who are you talking about emmasea? I really hope it's not me?

If it is then I can only apologise as I tried to offer assistance with little to nothing to go on. I will remove my comments forthwith and I hope others can guide you further.