Best Xiaomi phone for camera and photography? Mi note 10 vs older / lite mi 8 mi 9 flagship?

Posted 14th Jun
Hi,

Looking for some advice:

I've been a Xiaomi fan for several years and want to stick with the brand. I had an accident with my Mi 8 (which was an amazing phone) and I'm looking to replace it.

Not sure whether to replace it like for like for around £200, or spend more for something more future proof. If the latter, I wanted to spend no more than £350 but now considering a little, smidge bit more if something is incredible and will last me a few years.

Priorities for me are the camera and screen as I'm an artist and don't want to carry a separate camera around, and want to edit on the go. Storage a priority too to hold photos and apps. I do a lot of video calls (moreso during lockdown!) so decent selfie camera and adequate sound a must too. Something not too phablet like and bulky would be preferable - I've got small lady hands and small pockets! I'm not a gamer, so processor speed isn't essential, but at the same time I wouldn't want to experience crashes. Finally, I'm after a global version.

I think I'm settled on Xiaomi mi note 10 due to 108mp camera, strong battery life and price point, but am now doubting myself as to whether the camera, despite its many megapixels, is better than an older flagship camera of lower spec.

Toying between mi note 10, or a bit more for pro, or would an older flagship like mi 9 (and its variants like lite, 9t) or mi 10 lite be better? I can't afford the mi 10 pricepoint.

There was a great deal posted for my old mi 8 on here that I was tempted by, (as I say, I was very happy with mine) but I'm not sure if I'd still want that older phone in 1-2years time. If I'm spending over £350 I'll definitely not want to replace any time soon.

Whichever model I plump for, I'm only happy when I've bagged myself a right good bargain!