Groups

Blu Ray exclusives help

After missing out on the Predators steelbook at play (So disappointed) I am looking elsewhere for possible exclusive editions.

Not bought Blu's on release before so have no idea on the shops to go for.
    Can anyone tell me about any good offers or exclusives please ?. Also after Iron Man 2.

Thanks as always peoples

6 Comments

I am sure you could pick them uo on eBay

Original Poster

I'd prefer to get the UK release (not out yet - IM2 25th Oct -Pred's 1st Nov) so if needed I can sell on easier and I only have a R2 PS3 to begin with. I am correct in thinking that PS3 are region free for games but not movies ?.

I had thought about trying to pick up the Play exclusive steelbook of Predators on ebay but imagined it would get a inflated price.

Just wanted to see if anyone had found cheaper prices and/or store exclusive versions from shops I don't know of. I am new to buying blu's as I have only bought second hand from Avforums.

Original Poster

Bump. Would like something special with both these movies if possible.

I don't think you'll find many in-store exclusive Blu-Rays to be honest; it's play.com and hmv.com who have most of the exclusive titles, and the majority of the time (in HMV's case) they sell out before hitting the shelves. Morrisons had 2012 with an exclusive outer sleeve, but nothing in terms of completely different packaging.

Steelbooks are the way to go if you want more collectable editions, but the market is being oversaturated with them at the moment - a year or so ago there was probably one released every couple of months, but now there's two or three a month. Things like Iron Man, I am Legend and Indy (all from Futureshop in Canada) are worth big money, but there's not many others now that can be seen as investments.