BT retention deal

Posted 16th Dec 2019
I noticed Virgin Fibre are offering 100Mb for £17.75. With a month left on my BT contract I called up to cancel. Immediate pickup, lovely to talk to - offered me 76Mbit for £21.99. Even though I could have had Virgin cheaper, I said yes because there's a 14-day cooling off period.

Now 14 days is on the clock - is that a good deal? Or should I try Virgin?

I've had next to no issues with BT and when they screwed up once I got free internet for a few months. I'm lucky to have a stable line given I'm in a new build - and there's about 8.5MB/s down (or 75Mbit). I have no experience with Virgin but I'm repeatedly hearing bad things about them from everyone I know. Any input?
Community Updates
Ask

Groups

14 Comments
I can get cheaper service with other providers but BT have got their act together if I get good customer services from them I am happy to pay that little bit extra also better the devil you know
My only gripe with BT is their router. All my devices routinely drop the connection and reconnect a few seconds later. But the actual ADSL connection is rock solid and fortunately, I have never had to call them for anything. That being said, Community and HyperOptic are laying fiber in my neighbourhood and I am looking forward to their introductory offers later in 2020.
Virgin will quite literally rip up anything in their path in order to put their high speed lines in. Believe me, I learned the hard way. (I am also in a new build house in the NW and have had to shell out for near enough an entirely new lawn)
deleted1447778
bozo00716/12/2019 07:51