Buying a house for first time

Found 22nd Jan
Hi guys, I’m completely new to buying a house and I tried to read about mortgages as much I could but can’t get my head round it. I’m looking for a house in Sheffield 3 or 4bedrooms, I can pay deposit about £50,000, looking to spend no more than 125,000 found a few houses but not sure about mortgages specially there’s different types of mortgages. I can pay max £500 per month. I’m a newbie to this please explain as basic as possible appreciate your help

Thank you
Community Updates
  1. Ask
Groups
  1. Ask
13 Comments
Best thing is to go to a Building Society , Mortgage advisor or Bank have them explain things to you . You'll get varying advice on HUKD from the aspirational know it alls . But If I were you I'd go to a Building Society or Mortgage advisor - The explanation and advice will cost nothing you can then make your decisions based on facts - Not from potentially duff advice on a shopping forum .
Edited by: "rogparki" 22nd Jan
You will need a mortgage promise before you even look
1.) You need to know your "LTV" (Loan to Value) to see what mortgage rates are available. If you're buying a property for £125k and putting in a deposit of £50k that's a LTV of 60% (e.g. you'd be borrowing 60% of the value and providing 40% of it as your deposit). That's a very decent starting point and you'll have some of the best interest rates available (it doesn't tend to improve past 60%).

2.) You can that start to think about the other variables such as if you'll look at a fixed rate mortgage for a set period of time (typically 2yr, 3yr or 5yr), or a tracker mortgage that moves as the Bank of England Base rate changes. You'll get many different opinions on this. A fix offers security of a known monthly payment amount, a variable may mean you pay back less in interest IF rates don't move.