Buying a Used Car - Autotrader dodgy sellers??

Found 13th Aug 2011
Hey I've been looking on autotrader for a cheap used run about for my gf! We saw a couple of Ford Ka's in our local area sold by trade sellers which seemed to fit the bill!

When we drove to the location listed it was just some guys house with a load of cars parked up! Anyone got any experience of this? Is it dodge? We didn't bother looking at it because of this and I feel more confident buying a car from a place that has a garage so it's clear they have some mechanical knowledge!

I rang another "trade seller" and he said he wasn't home yet and asked me to go about 2ish! Once again we didn't bother
Community Updates
MiscCar
15 Comments
I think if you list as a trade seller, you get cheaper rates. If he's actually a private seller (or someone buying and selling on the side) then he's probably just trying to get round higher fees.
Surely anyone buying and selling cars would be a trade seller, regardless of where they're trading from.
gavjbrown

Surely anyone buying and selling cars would be a trade seller, regardless … Surely anyone buying and selling cars would be a trade seller, regardless of where they're trading from.

Autotrader has "Trade Sellers" and "Private Sellers"
gavjbrown

Surely anyone buying and selling cars would be a trade seller, regardless … Surely anyone buying and selling cars would be a trade seller, regardless of where they're trading from.

Not if you're only selling one or two cars! A trader is an actual business.
A lot of people buy cars from auction to sell on, as a business from their home. Just because they operate out of their home don't discount them straight away, I'd just be a little more careful when buying, and don't rely on being able to take it back if you have major issues (they may not be there when you try!). Although don't think "proper" trade wont rip you off - when buying a used car it pays to be extra cautious wherever you buy from!