Expired

Buying Glasses online. Any advice?

Found 15th Nov 2013
I sat on my glasses and now looking for another pair. I have super glued it back together but I have little hope that it will last long now.

I am not working at the moment so I have decided to buy glasses online but I have never done this before. Looking around glassesdirect they have some nice glasses at affordable prices but I am a bit worried.

What happens if the glasses need adjusting once I receive them? Normally boots or specsavers would do them but would they adjust glasses not bought from them? Or is this easy enough to do at home?

Does anybody buy glasses online regularly? Any advice on this? I will go one of two ways on this. If my current glasses crumble as soon as I pick them up then ill go super cheap to keep me going until I start working early next year. If however my current pair last me another month or two then I might go for some nice RayBands which are about 80 odd quid.
Community Updates
AskGlasses
9 Comments
If you dont mind waiting a couple of weeks for delivery then Goggles4u.com are the cheapest Ive come across,I got a pair of vari focals lens with photchromatic coating for $75.00/£47 inc delivery with a discount posted on here .Ive never had to have mine adjusted so cant offer any advice here but Id say other sellers will probably charge for adjustments should you need it.

Edited by: "arachnoid" 15th Nov 2013
I bought sunglasses and two pairs of normal glasses for the first time online this year. Had to adjust the sunglasses but no problems. Heated up the arms with a hairdryer then eased them into the correct fit. For the normal glasses I just had to pinch in the nose pads to raise them up a bit but in both cases was really simple. I will definitely buy online again as I saved so much money! Good luck.
Original Poster
I think I might give it a go. The super glue is holding the right side of the glasses at the moment, although its no longer flexible on that side.