Found 17th Aug 2009
Hopefully someone can help me!

Basically I'm looking to buy a new digital camera to update my old 6MP one, unfortunately I'm no expert on these things.

I'm looking to spend £100-£150 (or less) on a digital compact, preferably a slim one, ideally with a rechargeable battery. I like the look of some of the casio exilim cameras, but I've no idea how good they are in comparison to others that are out there.

Does anyone know of any good deals that are kicking around at the moment? Or can anyone recommend a good camera in the price range that I'm looking at??

1. Misc
  2. Camera
Groups
  1. Misc
  2. Camera
13 Comments

My top tip here not about camera makes, but optical viewfinders. They are becoming rare on digital compact cameras, but if anyone is like me, needs reading glasses but has reasonable normal vision, an optical viewfinder would be a pre-requisite else Reading glasses needed to be worn to compose the shot, whilst you can't actually see the subject... if you see what I mean !

Banned

Cannon............plenty of good ones to buy.try IXUS 860IS EASY QUALITY VALUE
A little more money a good Sony(although a couple in your range)

Banned

dcx_badass;6039621

I wouldn't get a sony due to them taking stupid memory sticks, sd cards … I wouldn't get a sony due to them taking stupid memory sticks, sd cards are much cheaper and easier.

Some sony take SD cards not ALL are stupid sticks:oops::thumbsup:

If you want rechargable batteries go for one with a Lithium Ion battery rather than AAA or AA.

Lithium Ion batteries tend to last longer when charged.

Original Poster

dcx_badass;6039621

I wouldn't get a sony due to them taking stupid memory sticks, sd cards … I wouldn't get a sony due to them taking stupid memory sticks, sd cards are much cheaper and easier.

Yeah, I've got a few SD cards lying around the house, so it would be good to make use of them!!

Banned

dcx_badass;6039661

K, back when I got my ixus all sonys were memory stick only.