Camera Question - help buying a new compact camera.

Found 24th Jul 2017
Hi Guys -
We are going on holiday soon and i would like to purchase a new compact digital camera to allow me to take better pictures than my iphone 7.

I currently have a bridge camera - its a Panasonic DMC FZ-38, its been a good camera but in truth its just too big and bulky to take around the pool or carry about on a night out whilst on holiday.

I would like to purchase a new camera - but this time a nice smaller one (something easy to carry), but with a similar spec capability as my panasonic bridge camera.

I'm only a very novice user and these are the main things i would like in my new camera -
# Something with a large zoom capability, my current Panasonic can zoom upto x 18
# Something where i can upload photos by wifi to my camera phone to allow me to use my photo editors such as Instagram, Snapseed and Enlight.
# Something that can produce nice sharp images in day and poor light conditions and can also give that "Bokeh" effect of blurred background images when your main image is in focus.

As i say im a novice user so preferably something very easy to operate.

My budget is around £150/200 - please can anyone recommend something??

8 Comments

Shallow depth of field is hard to achieve on a compact as the sensors and lenses are usually really small. You can get decent software based results, I'm certain a few compacts have built in modes for just that.

Also, it's been a while since I've bought a compact but I imagine you'll need to downgrade your expectations when it comes to zoom too, a lot of compacts zoom digitally to increase the zoom so make sure you are looking at optical zoom rating.

I'd be interested to see what people suggest though.

after trying a few went for a panasonic dmc tz80 was which mag choice

compact and has post focus

johnlewis.com/can…ple

Not quite as much optical zoom as the Panny, but I find the Ixus range so small and user friendly.