Groups

CAN ANYONE HELP PLEASE-TECHNICAL-setting laptop with mobile phone as modem.

Well new laptop daughter is wanting to use it with her phone.
    We bought it for her 21st and she till cant use it on the internet

She has installed drivers for two handsets-her old Nokia 5400 and a new 5310..tried two sims which are both activated and will access internet on the handsets.
    Computer has list of available networks both handsets but when you try to connect it says no telephone signal detected on the lappy. Both handsets are fine on her desktop pc(she is using a cable btw to connect)
    Been to tech guys at pcworld today-lol-wrong name as havent a clue!

They tried to tell us it was the phones-and both networks, but after sometime told us they thought it was old version of software on phone (its 5 months old-he said its version 6.84 and the new one is 7.

The desktop is XP and the lappy is Vista if this would make a difference.

I am NOT technical so would appreciate if someone had the patience to tell me if they know why this is happening?

Thanks! Louloo

14 Comments

I think you need to update the software if possible

Original Poster

you think so? you think they are right?

Probably, they know more than me..So try it..it could be the software conflicting..:)

Hi I believe it could be more to do with the software you have on your laptop. You mention drivers, but is it a pc suite that came on a disc with the phone?. Usually within the pc suite there is a mobile phone networking wizard.....which make of phones are you using?

Original Poster

Dougb1;3712117

Hi I believe it could be more to do with the software you have on your … Hi I believe it could be more to do with the software you have on your laptop. You mention drivers, but is it a pc suite that came on a disc with the phone?. Usually within the pc suite there is a mobile phone networking wizard.....which make of phones are you using?

Hi-thanks for your response!