Cancelling a subscription from the magazine sites?

Found 6th Aug 2015
I have taken out a couple of subscriptions on a couple of magazine websites. Namely Radio Times and and a computer mag.

I have cancelled the direct debit for Radio Times but do I need to do anything else? Should I contact Radio Times, the mag subscription website or just leave it with a cancelled direct debit?
Community Updates
AskMagazine
5 Comments
I work in a bank a deal with these things on a daily basis - both direct debit and recurring debit card payments we always recommend contacting them directly as well as cancelling with the bank especially as the originally agreement would have been directly between yourself and them this will ensure they do not try to reset anything else up.

With a direct debit you are covered under the direct debit guarantee so if anything is taken in error etc you can always do a direct debit indemnity claim to get your money back via the bank.

If you are paying by debit card for your subscriptions then you can also cancel via your bank (as a recurring debit card transaction) they will take the date of cancellation as the date you told the bank and any future requests by the company for the amount will be denied or returned to you.

Hope that all makes sense.
Fairyfeet1964