Expired

Car accident details

Found 15th JunEdited by:"mutley1"
I was involved in a minor car accident but I did not take any pictures or their details except their first name and their mobile number as I thought I could contact them later to get their details before reporting the incident to my insurer.

I should have taken down their registration number and asked for their full name to pass on to my insurer. Have I been silly and will I get into trouble if they don't let me have their details?
Community Updates
AskHome & Living
Top comments
so you had an accident but didn't take the reg details?

the bait on this one is sky high, I'm out
She says, whilst never being able to make a decision without asking HUKD first.

It's turning into your own personal blog here.
Maybe you should give up driving before you kill somebody.
mutley121 m ago

i am a careful driver but i am not a good driver i do admit. we all have …i am a careful driver but i am not a good driver i do admit. we all have accidents, and some people drive like maniacs on the road so just because i bumped into someone, i am not a dangerous driver.

You are clearly dangerous considering you could have killed a motorcyclist through your negligence.
18 Comments
Depends how honest they are, but very likely yes. I would say don't let on that you don't have his reg number and text him for the rest of his details first. Your fault or his? You will need to have the reg number if you are going to claim, but try and get the other info before letting that cat out of the bag.
Registration is the minimum you need as without, it will be difficult for anything else to progress. Unless they had yours and informed their insurance company.
so you had an accident but didn't take the reg details?

the bait on this one is sky high, I'm out
Ar460rn24 m ago