Groups
    EXPIRED

car insurance help please

Hi I was involved in a car accident and had no MOT at the time as had genuinely forgot and got it MOT'd after few days had informed the insurer and now they say they will recover third party costs from me if they have to pay out as I had no MOT at the time so broke the contract just need some advice really thanks btw third part put in claim for personal injury and whiplash for driver and two passengers it was a little scrape at 3/4mph turning into a side road thank you

30 Comments

Not much you can do about the 3rd party costs, I presume this is the excess? You are not getting your car repaired? Driving with out the MOT except too and from and MOT test is a no no. As a fleet manager I would hazard guess if you never said anything, the insurance company would not do an automatic audit to check if you had an MOT so you would probably have got away with it. I presume no police attend and hence no producer to reg plate check by the plod.

Most insures only look in to things through either random audits on claims or if the claim reaches a certain amount.

Claims for whiplash etc. will probably be investigated at both ends, its pretty standard for people to put in a PIC!

Edited by: "groenleader" 21st Feb

If it was a little 3-4mph bump why did you not just tell them to get a quote to get the issue fixed and u would pay it. At this speed can only guess it is a scratch and would not cost more then £80-100 to re-paint the panel.
    where peoples excess is normally over £200+

But not having a MOT is you fault most garages send you a txt message saying when your MOT is due as they want the business.

When ever Ive been involved in an accident regardless of fault the insurance companies have always checked the validity of an MOT and road tax.