Car Leasing

Found 7th Jan 2012
Hi. We are looking at changing my car in the next month or so and are looking at the possibility of leasing. Does any one have any experience of this (pro n cons) and can anyone recommend a company.

There seems to be loads on the web but not sure if theres better companys than others..

Thanks

M
Community Updates
MiscCarCar Lease
6 Comments
I would be interested as well, its cheaper than PCP in some cases!
Banned
Im gonna lease my next car.

JTT is a bit of an expert on leasing
Shirley it is a waste as you'll never own it?
It definitely made me think, if all you intend to do is change every 2/3/4 years, its all about monthly cost..and cheapest is best.
I've been leasing a car for the last 3 years.

This was the first time I've leased personally and can totally recommend it. We got a brand new car, without a big deposit. Our term was for 3 years so we are just about to hand it back. We weren't bothered about owning the car at the end of it as we like the idea of a fixed monthly payment and a new car every 3-4 years.

We looked around at various websites and found the vehicle we wanted, a Honda CRV. Rather than buy from a site we went to the local dealer and asked if they could match the price. They did, so we did the deal with them.

You usually have to pay 3 monthly payments as your first payment. For example, if your monthly payment is going to be £100, your first payment would be £300.
This is what it means when you see "3+35" or "3+47". The 3 is the initial payment followed by either 35 or 47 payments of your normal monthly amount.

You will probably have to get the car serviced at a main dealer as this will be part of the terms and conditions of leasing the car. You cannot use your friendly local garage as you need to get the main dealer stamps in the service book. This then helps them to move the car at the end of the lease, "low mileage, full service history".