Found 12th May
My car has started to make a revving noise even when no gas is being added. This has happened when I was stationary in traffic and even yesterday when I switched the car off, the noise continued for 30 seconds. The car isn't revving, but the noise sounds very similar to that noise.

21 Comments

ECU could be faulty, O2 sensor, throttle sensor/cable.... Take it to a mechanic so they can check it over. There's too many things it could be for people to guess

get some EGR cleaner spray from Halfords £10! soon clear that issue.

I'm not a mechanic but I had similar experience with my car that's a few years old turned out the throttle sensor had to be replaced, best get it checked out asap if left could cause serious damage to engine... The joys of motoring!!..;)

AC Radiator fan? Sometimes really loud and can run for a while after the car shuts off!

Original Poster

swedishfireball

AC Radiator fan? Sometimes really loud and can run for a while after the … AC Radiator fan? Sometimes really loud and can run for a while after the car shuts off!

I never use AC.

Ok well that's a loose guess based on the info, a car sounding like it's revving but not actual engine noise could be a multitude of things. I would firstly google the year, model of the car and add your sympton or failing that get it into a garage to get it looked at asap.

david_wavid

\x09\x09\x09\x09\x09\x09My car has started to make a revving noise even … \x09\x09\x09\x09\x09\x09My car has started to make a revving noise even when no gas is being added. This has happened when I was stationary in traffic and even yesterday when I switched the car off, the noise continued for 30 seconds. The car isn't revving, but the noise sounds very similar to that noise.\x09\x09\x09\x09\x09

Should ask, are all your coolants and oil levels topped off? Is the engine temperature getting hot?
Edited by: "xfaxfa" 12th May