Car wheel alignment

Found 11th Jul
Wanted some advice regarding wheel alignment. I have a front wheel drive vehicle (VW Golf). Do I need to bother with aligning my rear wheels too? My local garage will charge me £20 for front wheels but can’t do rear wheel alignment. Kwiq fit who do 4 wheel allignment will charge me £160 for the whole lot. Is there any benefit of rear wheel alignment on a front wheel drive vehicle? I
Community Updates
AskHome & LivingCar
17 Comments
I'm no expert , I'm sure one of those will be along soon , but after an interesting meeting with a high kerb a couple of weeks ago ( to let a fire engine through before you judge my driving) , my local garage checked to see if I needed my wheels re aligned for free, and could have done front and back with no problem if needed. Have you had the car checked to see if it's an issue , it took them 5 mins to check mine if that . Surely you must have another garage who can do it for less than £160.
If your tyres are wearing fairly equal and the car tracks straight when driving down the road I would leave everything as it is, some of the young lads at the tyre garages are not always the best at making the correct adjustments, if you really feel it necessary a safer bet would be your local vw group dealer. You may find little difference in cost.
Edited by: "SOUTHWALES" 11th Jul
It the tyres at the back wear evenly across the tread I wouldn't bother. The back only tends to go out of alignment if you slide the back end into something like a curb. The lower power powered golfs have torsion beam suspension which hold their alignment better than the multilink ones.
Many people will say potholes cause alignment issues, which is true but if they are hit that hard they tend to destroy the tyre and or wheel.
Where are you located ? Definitely cheaper places around who can check all 4 tyres.
Ibby18219 m ago