Found 27th Sep 2016
Put the key in ignition and try to start engine and nothing, makes a clicking noise until you turn ignition off. Anybody any ideas what it could be? I'm no expert could it be a dead battery thing is radio still works and lights and indicators

1. Ask
  2. Car
Groups
  1. Ask
  2. Car
13 Comments

Dead battery, not enough juice to start the car but enough juice for lights etc

Sloth/Mod

As above, your battery needs replacing/jumping

Lights and radio need a lot less power than the starter motor. Try turning EVERTHING else off (lights/heater/radio etc..) so no power drain. If your car usually starts quick you may just have enough juice to turn over the motor...if it does take it for a decent 20-30min drive and it will put some juice back in the battery.
then you need to either find out what caused the battery drain (interior light/boot lid not shut is often a cause)
If battery doesn't hold charge though it probably need replacing.

Yes, sounds like flat battery, It's all about the amps.

Also have you changed keyfob battery? They sometimes have little immobilizer chips in them, often they fall out.

Did you leave lights on?.

If not then could be faulty battery, alternator or something else is draining it or short circuiting etc..

Starting to get colder weather now and it's usually when we notice batteries aren't holding charge as well as they should.

Original Poster

The battery in the car has never been changed since I got the car in 2008, so could be its had its time

Also depends on the age of the car as it could be the starter motor and if my memory serves me well just stick the car into first and rock it back n forth then drop it into neutral and try again.

Not sure if this affects newer cars with all those new fangled electronics and EMS etc (and yes I'm old hehehehe)

Battery, if you can bump it in 2nd, get you to motor factors to replace the battery, winters coming so needs replacement