Carrera crossfire 2 good for commute

Posted 31st Jan
Hi, I’m looking to buy my first bike and I’m in my 30s and never ridden a bike on the road. I’m still learning but I want to know from people who has experience is the Carrera crossfire 2 good for commute to work? Also are they flexible as I don’t want mess around with chain and brakes often as I’m newbie.

Appreciate any suggestions
Community Updates
Ask

Groups

28 Comments
I'm not a cycling fanatic. I own a Crossfire and enjoy riding it. Reasonable price and have had no issues with it. Massive improvement on my old bike, but tht was 20 years old!
If you are commuting by road and don't want maintenance then the crossfire 2 wouldn't be high on my list - the cheap suspension fork for a start adds weight, adds complexity and adds maintenance.

On fork front something rigid is more appropriate for roads - if you want cushioning you aim for wider tyres albeit they then have greater rolling resistance. Its sibling the crossfire 1 is the rigid form although if you can stretch further the Voodoo Marasa is on offer at the moment and is a step up in a number of ways.
Edited by: "Bertz99" 31st Jan
I would avoid halfords carrera range, friend recently purchased one and has had nothing but issues.

What is your budget?

How hilly is your area?
Edited by: "mogsog" 31st Jan
mogsog31/01/2020 08:39

I would avoid halfords carrera range, friend recently purchased one and …I would avoid halfords carrera range, friend recently purchased one and has had nothing but issues.What is your budget?How hilly is your area?

Hi, my budget is between £150 - 300
And my road to work is flat which is very nice
happyman198231/01/2020 09:04

Hi, my budget is between £150 - 300And my road to work is flat which is …Hi, my budget is between £150 - 300And my road to work is flat which is very nice

Perfect, I think this will be great for you.

chainreactioncycles.com/mob…084