CCTV Installation

Posted 11th Jul
I'm after CCTV installation and I've managed to get a couple of quotes off of trustatrader.com but one of the companies have quoted me £500+ and another has quoted £900.

The £500+ quote was very vague and just told me that it included 4 cameras, recording box linked to TV, mobile installation, Hikvision system.

The £900 quote includes 3 HD cameras, mobile installation (notifications and alerts), 4 channel DVR, 1TB hard drive, wireless extenders to eliminate internal cabling. Didn't name what system they used.

I think £900 is a bit expensive so I'm leaning more towards the £500 quote but I don't want the bare minimum if that makes sense so I'm after people's views and thoughts. I'm from Barnsley so if anyone round there can recommend then that would be great ?
Community Updates
Ask

Groups

21 Comments
Ask them the system specs? It could be 720p or 500gb HDD.

I'm no expert but that's what I would ask them first.
Edited by: "D3SI" 11th Jul
Best thing to do is get 3 or 4 quotes and take it from there. The cheapest isn't always the best. Plus when you have drilling and wires involved you don't want a cowboy coming to do the work. Just like any tradesman you pay for their experience and quality not just for the items. I would rather pay more money and have somebody who cares about how their work looks after it's finished. You also say yourself the cheapest guy was very vague. That's a no from me straight away. If you're not even passionate about what you do for a living then why would he be passionate about doing a top quality job.
Where you based?
So your having IP cameras?
They are normally a bit more expensive
Do a bit more research and work out exactly what you want. Then give the tradesman the system you need a quote for. Otherwise you could end up with a £100 ebay system and quotes for more quality systems looking expensive in comparison. You need to be comparing like for like.
Edited by: "yorkie12" 11th Jul