Unfortunately, this discussion is no longer valid
Expired

Cities To Visit In Europe

Posted 3rd Mar
Hi all,

I’ve been looking into travelling across Western Europe for approx 3 weeks next summer. I’m new to this type of travel so have a few questions if anyone can help? If anyone has done anything similar to this please do advise me on anything you feel will help me.

The cities I was hoping to visit are:

1. Milan, Italy
2. Venice, Italy
3. Munich, Germany
4. Vienna, Austria
5. Budapest, Hungary
6. Prague, Czech Rep.
7. Berlin, Germany
8. Amsterdam, NL
9. Paris, France (& Disneyland)
10. Nice, France

It’s for 2 adults and 2 children, age 2 and 8. Is it better to hire a car and drive? Or the euro rail? Worried about amount of luggage needed with the children and distance/time travelling between cities.

Also accommodation and food.. all tips greatly appreciated. I’m only just starting to look into it so need to plan it/organise it as best as possible.

Thank you
Community Updates
Ask
10 Comments
Too much travelling with not enough rest for fidgety kids.
I suggest that if possible you base yourself somewhere in the alps (Chamonix) & drive a few places whilst not spending too long in a car / catching trains with wet / worse nappies & tetchy hot kids.

Nice alpine environment, fly into geneva, drive to chamonix pre-book a basic apartment ( maeva riviere) not far from centre of town, bunk beds & drop down sofa bed (I use em all the time).
pay for underground parking.

Take kids up the mountains (lifts & hikes available) ...good food whichever way you choose.

Just over the border from switzerland, Italy, & a lot of france to investigate. (Annecy for example)
If you really REALLY need to tick stuff off as passing through then how about a week at 3 destinations & a flight back to blighty ..RESTED.