Cleaning contact lenses

Found 16th Feb
Hi,

I am new to contact lenses and was looking for information on how to look after/clean them. I came across the information below and was wondering if that is the correct way of doing it.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

• Ensure your hands are washed, clean and dry.

• Fill each chamber of your contact lens case with fresh contact lens disinfecting solution.

• Begin with the same eye every time you put in or remove your contact lenses. This way you won’t mix them up.

• Always clean your contact lenses immediately after you remove them.

• Place the lens in the clean, dry palm of your hand.

• Apply a few drops of the prescribed contact lens disinfecting solution.

• With one finger gently rub the lens back and forth on your palm to clean the lens surfaces.

• Rinse your lens thoroughly with a few more drops of the prescribed solution.
Community Updates
AskHealth & Beauty
15 Comments
Yes that’s how the optician tell you to do it though not sure about the daily ones.
eslick21 m ago

Yes that’s how the optician tell you to do it though not sure about the d …Yes that’s how the optician tell you to do it though not sure about the daily ones.

But wouldn't rubbing them with your fingers cause the oil/sebum on your fingers to transfer to the lens?
Dailies wouldn't need cleaning at all since they are a daily disposable lens.

As long as the lens fluid is changed every time they are used, they don't need rubbing either as they are soaked for prolonged periods of time.

I wouldn't rub them at all as that can cause weaknesses and can result in lenses splitting in your eye.
DevilsReaper12 m ago

But wouldn't rubbing them with your fingers cause the oil/sebum on your …But wouldn't rubbing them with your fingers cause the oil/sebum on your fingers to transfer to the lens?

its not exactly rubbing just moving your finger over the lenses with the solution, solution is in contact and then you rinse again.