Cloning HDD to SSD Help

Found 9th Jan
Hi Guys,

I'm trying to clone my 1TB HDD to a fresh 120gb SSD, however its my first time doing this so i'm having trouble...

After getting some advice, I downloaded EaseUS Partition Manager and EaseUS ToDo Backup.

I resized the partion of C: in my HDD to 110GB using the partition manager, then cloned this to the SSD using the other tool, this took around 45 mins and seemed to work successfully.

So I thought it would be as simple as literally swapping them over, however when putting the SSD in I got the error message "Default boot device missing or boot failed" - which after reading online people were saying I needed to change some settings in the BIOS, this being to change 'UEFI' to 'Legacy Support' and to legacy first... done that and then it started saying 'No bootable device'

So now I'm stuck and don't know what do next...

Any help would be appreciated!
Community Updates
AskElectronics
9 Comments
Put your windows disc in and do a boot repair. Ensure your normal HDD is not plugged in, only your SSD. It’ll reinstall any corrupted windows files. Once into windows and it’s happy shut it down, plug in the HDD as well and boot up, ensure you boot to the SSD. Then map the other drive to a letter and rename the windows folder on the HDD to windows.old. This will stop it being seen as a bootable windows version. You can then use the drive as another data drive by adding a new partition and keeping the existing partition on the drive as a backup of your data.
Edited by: "cmdr_elito" 9th Jan
Personally I would do a Fresh Install on the SSD then copy your files across.
When I bought the laptop I didn’t receive a windows disk, nor do I even have a disk drive in the new laptop actually.

So what would my alternatives be now? I thought it was as simple as cloning through EaseUS then all the data would just transfer aha...
You make an Win Repair Disk or USB from your existing Installation and try using that.