Combi Boiler help

Found 6th Sep 2011
Hi,

I have been to view a few property and shortlist a few, and one of them raised my concerns and I need some expert advice.

They have relocated their combi boiler to the garden, and have build a wooden cupboard to shield it from the open. I am just concerned of the following;
1. Is it safe to have a combi boiler outside
2. if safe, than would that not take twice as much energy to heat up assuming it the cold outside would take the heat away.
3. if water in the pipes iced up in the winter, would that not damage it or cause overheating or some sort?

I have tried calling some companies, but at this time, they only interest in getting work.

Thanks in advance.
Community Updates
MiscBoiler
21 Comments
Have you asked the agent/vendor?

Ring a plumber? Sounds odd to me
Edited by: "sancho1983" 6th Sep 2011
Not that im a plumber... but that sounds pretty bizzare to me !! A boiler in the garden... have they got the cooker out there as well ??

Odd
When you say "in a cupboard", what do you mean? Is the boiler on an external wall of the main building?

Are the pipes open to the elements?
Sounds like a strange setup to me. The boiler will probably have anti-frost protection but it will be firing up all the time out there. Can't say I would be happy with that.
Sounds weird.

You would need to ask them for certification of the installation from the engineer that installed it - as long as he was registered with the relevant body when it was installed (either Corgi or more recently Gas Safe) it would be deemed safe I guess.

As for the other issues, you'd think it would be more prone to icing, unless the pipework heading in all directions is heavily insulated. The heat exchanger where your water is heated up, is relatively enclosed unit that shouldn't have any particular issues with being outside.