Groups

Credit Card Question

If you're 18, but a student or something, and you don't have a regular income, is there any way you can get a credit card? Any bank that'll give you one?

13 Comments

Yes, many banks offer a student credit card. I got one with Barclays when I was a student.

I loads of fun with my Barclays student credit card.

Those were the days

Original Poster

Thanks for that. Can you get it before you're at university?

cackhandedchimp;4325739

Thanks for that. Can you get it before you're at university?

As long as you can prove that you are a student in full time education then they should be fine with it. I had to show some documents to them just so they could copy them for their records, just to proove I was actually a student. :thumbsup:

Original Poster

Just checking now, I think you need to open up a student current account in order to apply for the credit card. I heard Halifax were good...any thoughts on who's best?

cackhandedchimp;4325803

Just checking now, I think you need to open up a student current account … Just checking now, I think you need to open up a student current account in order to apply for the credit card. I heard Halifax were good...any thoughts on who's best?

No idea, its been many years since I was a student..lol sorry.:)

cackhandedchimp;4325803

Just checking now, I think you need to open up a student current account … Just checking now, I think you need to open up a student current account in order to apply for the credit card. I heard Halifax were good...any thoughts on who's best?

Lots of folk at my uni went with RBS but I thought Lloyds Tsb were loads better!! They've been my bank for 11 years now. That was like 3 yrs ago when everyone was changin to student accounts. And look at RBS now.... ;-)

Don't! If you can manage without one then you should. If you're not completely disciplined you can end up in trouble. Really. Try and avoid if you can.:thumbsup: