Credit card question... Can I add my funds to boost my initial balance?

Found 6th Sep 2017
so I got an m&s card recently that gives you 25 months on purchases at 0% but they only gave me 1k limit, I'm after a nice laptop but they seem to be always creeping over the 1k mark... around 1200.

What is my way around this? Can I add £200 from my current account to my credit card which I have never used before to make it £1,200? and still keep my 0% offer?

Or can I pay the £1200 via the credit card then top up the £200 straight away? I just don't want to lose or risk the 0% offer.

Thank you if you took your time out to answer.
Community Updates
Ask
13 Comments
I believe you can.
It depends on the card, some do let you transfer cash to get a positive balance but others don't, not sure about M&S. I'd just try and see if it let's you.

Paying £1200 and then transferring £200 after would almost certainly result in a charge for going over your limit.
If you are purchasing instore the simplest option would be to ask them to debit the first £1000 from your credit card and pay the remainder on your debit card, most retailers can split the purchase over two cards.

If you try to spend £1200 on a first purchase without paying in extra funds first the transaction will be declined , or if accepted charged for . You could phone m&s and see if they are one of the credit cards that allows extra funds to be paid in, for example I know you can with barclaycard and definately can't with Amex. I wouldn't do it without calling them as the terms and conditions may mean this would risk your 0%.
Edited by: "tinkerbellian" 6th Sep 2017
Thank you for your feedback everyone I'll call them now and ask. And unfortunately it's not in store I'm trying to pick up a bargain online
tinkerbellian38 m ago