Credit cards

Found 2nd Apr
Hey guys!

Hope you all keeping well, I'm new to credit cards and struggling to understand how it works, so the reason why I want a credit card is because I want to improve my credit rating; I understand that if you buy something with the credit card and pay it back within a specific time frame then I won't be charged interest this could be a way to earn credit. The question is in what time frame do you have pay it back interest free, exactly the end of the month? lol sorry im so confused right now
Community Updates
  1. Ask
Groups
  1. Ask
15 Comments
I think if u got summit today you’d have 28 days before they charged you I think it would be in small print
If its purely to improve your credit rating, spend on a regular basis, monthly shopping, fuel etc and pay off in full at the end of the month.

Don't expect your rating to improve overnight, 12-18 months before I saw a noticeable improvement on mines.
when you have to pay the money back depends on the card you have as different providers will have different time frame, but it is any where between 2 weeks to 3 weeks from your statement date.

on average i would guess you are talking about 3 weeks after purchase before you have to pay for the purchase.
Timed correctly it can be UP TO 56 days interest free credit
Edited by: "OllieSt" 2nd Apr
Best to set up a DD with your bank to clear the full balance each month, then no chance of " forgetting" . Just use it for a couple of purchases each month then pay it all off every month .
Edited by: "rogparki" 2nd Apr
Don’t forget pay your balance IN FULL
You cant predict this stuff first time but after that, it becomes very regular. For us, the account is processed on the 1st (or 1st working day) of the month and the Direct Debit is collected 3 weeks later on day 20 (on a working day).