Groups

credit cards

Never having had a credit card, I decided I want to apply for one. Im a student (final year) but want the protection credit cards offer especially as some idiots stole some money from my debit card a while ago. I dont have any debts, so dont need balance transfers. Wont use it an awful lot. Does anyone know do you have to pay to have a credit card? What happens if I dont use it? I prob sound dumb but never had a credit card before! Thanks

12 Comments

It might be hard for you to obtain a credit card just now, depends how your credit rating is, would need to be very good right now.

Most cards don't charge for you to have thier cards, but some might so please check this out! I think if you don't really use it after so long it will be closed down. Maybe best phoning and speaking to your bank and seeing if they can do a card for you ?

Hope this helps a little

Also I think searching moneysupermarket.com and comparing credit cards could be a good idea

Tbh its worth having 1, just even its there for when you order stuff on the net, make large purchase etc. Its free to get one and it doesnt really matter if you dont use it, if possible I would go for a card that gives you cashback when you spend on it(just make sure you pay the balance each month), try the shell citi card or american express as both offer decent cashback rate

Original Poster

Thanks munnski...my bank always offerring me a credit card (as I graduate soon, they want to keep me). Maybe I will speak to them

Original Poster

Thanks treble

I am a student and they are a pain in the **** mate.

Avoid getting them if at all possible!