Decorating tools

Posted 20th Aug 2020
I am a decorator by trade and have been for over 20 years. I tend to use the same rollers and brushes for most jobs as I'm used to them, though lately I've noticed the quality of these drop as they don't last as long as they used to.

I just wondered what the other decorators out there used. I'm talking for general inside emulsioning. I tend to use a Purdy 1.5" Dale Elite Angled Synthetic Paint Brush which I find very good for cutting in. For rolling an Axus Merino 9 inch Sheepskin Sleeve - Medium Pile. I like the medium pile and used to think these were excellent rollers though lately the skin is coming unstuck far too soon. I look after my tools, washing them when needed etc so I'm not after tips in that sense just interested in recommendations please. I'm happy to pay the extra for the quality as I believe a good brush/roller easily pays for itself over time.

Thank you

links for what I used though not necessarily bought from these sites.

Brush
trade1st.co.uk/pur…nch

Roller
thepaintshed.com/axu…w9m
Community Updates
Ask
6 Comments
Where do you buy your paint and tools from?

If they are Trade outlets and you trust them they will give you the best advice(after 20 years this probably sounds like trying to teach you to suck eggs).
Nice to see someone that wants to spend on/look after their tools
Fossa Viper trim I use all the time for satin, gloss and emulsion. Hamilton Perfection sleeves are good but 15inch are the biggest. 18 inch white dove for flat lids sometimes in purdy cage and pole. Pro dooz roller sleeves are good too. Join a painters forum and listen to podcasts like brothers of the brush or other painters podcasts. Ton of information out there. You spraying?
Edited by: "wayners" 20th Aug
I use these brushes amazon.co.uk/Axus-D%C3%A9cor-Pro-Brush-Brush-Set/dp/B005TH081K