Decorator advice

Posted 16th Feb
Had a painter decorator in to line our hallway with lining paper as it's old plaster. Really don't think he's doing great, but so ignorant! He's left the paper sticking out at the corners, some strips are overlayed whereas others there are gaps... photos attached. should I get rid of him?
3407740-09Xx7.jpg3407740-qVXws.jpg3407740-qZ5ZA.jpg3407740-Sz3Qz.jpg
Community Updates
Ask
Top comments
I'm a painter and decorator.
Get him to f***.
What a mess.
You don't trim at a later date because the paper will be dry and it won't trim properly.
You don't overlap anything like picture 1 + 4.
You trim right up to the edges. You don't leave it too short like picture 2.
Picture 3 - gaps that wide can be filled with filler but you shouldn't have to.
My trades test any gap that was over 2mm was a fail. 1-2mm gap for expansion when the paper is drying + the paint fills it in/it's fine for paper over it.
If he has overlapped the paper this can be fixed by sanding the overlap out but again - should not have to!

Don't give him any money.
That is a riot and if he is qualified then he looks to be one of those painters without the decorator part.

Absolute con-man. Boils my blood when people like this say they're a painter and decorator. Makes tradespeople like myself look bad and out of work.

Next time OP, get a couple of different quotes and don't go with the cheapest. Real skills cost ££££.
A con-man with no skills doesn't and then you're left with that riot.
Edited by: "Cloeeez" 16th Feb
31 Comments
It’s one of those things where anyone thinks they can decorate. To be honest I could do better than that so if I was paying someone I would definitely expect better
Yeah thats not good, the gaps at the joints are not that much of a problem as it can always be filled before painting but the cutting around edges looks poor. He might not have finished yet though and he may go round at the end to trim everything again to tidy it all up.