Desktop PC needed mainly for designing - Budget is around £500

19 replies
Found 27th Dec 2008
I am looking for advice (please!) I have read so many reviews online that I feel like I am back at square one with my research.

I am studying Graphic Design at Uni and need the PC for programs such as Photoshop, Illustrator + After Effects. I was originally looking at an iMac until I discovered that for around £500 you can get a good PC potentially with Blu Ray? I will buy a monitor separately.

So, does anyone have any ideas of what I should go for, or avoid in a PC. OR maybe someone would like to convince me to buy the mac? Either way, some external opinion will be great!

Thanks in advance.

19 Comments

MSI K9A2VM-F V2 780V Socket AM2+ 7.1 Channel Audio mATX Motherboard 150347 £46.84
AMD Phenom X4 9950 2.6GHz Black Edition Socket AM2+ 125W 4MB L2 Cache (512KBx4) Retail Boxed CPU 150466 £137.71
Sapphire HD 4850 512MB GDDR3 Dual DVI Dual slot cooler HDTV Out PCI-E Graphics Card 148468 £119.89
EV Black Mid Tower Case with Carry Handles and Mesh Side Panel - No PSU 134802 £19.57
Kingston 4gb (2x2gb) Ddr2 800mhz Memory Non-ecc Cl5 143803 £27.71
Sony DRU-V200S 20X DVD1RW DL & DVD-RAM Serial ATA - Retail Black & Silver Bezel & Nero 151827
LG Blu-Ray & HD-DVD-Rom Combo 16x DVDRW Black SATA - Retail Box With Software 139985 £65.77
Seagate ST3500320AS 500GB Hard Drive SATA II 7200rpm *32MB Cache* - OEM 130826 £42.28
Sumvision 550W 20+4pin SATA 2x 80mm Fan PSU - Retail Box 120676 £17.21

Cart total inc vat: £536.55

This is not a bad start, it is £36 over your budget, but from your post it sounded like you would pay a bit more for the right things and this is the sweet point before things get really expensive but it is all top of the range. the CPU is the best AMD, the GPU is in the top range and very powerful card, It has 4Gb of memory, Blu-Ray & HD-DVD player with DVD-Re-writer and a seprate DVD-Writer so you dont use the Blu-Ray all the time, and 2x500Gb Hard Drives.