Expired

Do I increase credit limit or get another card?

Found 25th Feb 2015
I've received 2 letters this week. One from vanquis, whom I have my first credit card with. I've never gone over my limit so since october I have a clean credit file, building it for when it really matters. I've been told they are increasing my limit to £1000 in a month. I have the option to stop this.

I also got a letter from Aqua, who are offering me a credit card too.

Now, I always spend responsibly. I only work part time and as I'm studying I don't earn a lot (and don't need to). The £500 vanquis limit is about what I always have in at any point in time. I use money dashboard to check my actual balance so I'm always aware of how much I'm spending and how much is on my credit card. I ONLY use the credit card to build my credit score. I have never - and will never - let myself use the credit card believing it is free money.

I find it unlikely any credit card provider will give me a credit card with benefits such as cashback etc, (if anyone knows of something please let me know), so for now what looks like the best option? Increase my limit on one card, or get another for emergencies and keep it dormant until necessary. Would underusing a credit limit, or underusing a card completely do the most damage to my score?

1. Ask
  2. Card
Groups
  1. Ask
  2. Card
18 Comments

No, under using would do the least damage unless of course you were applying for credit at Brighthouse...

Having a £1000 limit shows on your credit file, therefore potential lenders know you can get yourself into £1000+ of debt, which would increase their risk, therefore decrease your chances of obtaining such credit.

The lower, the better, IMO.

Original Poster

GrantG182