Do I need air bricks??

Found 10th Dec 2011
Just a quick question. I have 2 air bricks in my kitchen, which at this time of the year makes it very cold. Can these be done away with/covered?? My combi boiler is on the kitchen wall, but does not require external ventilation(apart from the flue). We have solid ground floor.
Any help please
Community Updates
20 Comments
If it is a Condensing Combi boiler you have then no you do not need the ventilation. If its a older type Combi boiler that isn't condensing then you will need to keep the ventilation there.
Banned
I'm no expert but pretty sure it's a really bad idea to do away with air bricks, damp and condensation etc.

U may need to heat that area more.
Cover them up and open the windows. HTH.
Original Poster
Combi is condensing, states in manual that it doesn't need ventilation. more concerned about damp issues??
I have 2 air bricks in my kitchen, we covered them with plastic grills that have open and close option, didn't want to do away with them in case of any problems with condensation. up to now working very well hope this helps
whatsThePoint

just cover them and if anyone dies in the next few days of carbon … just cover them and if anyone dies in the next few days of carbon monoxide poisoning just uncover them again and try not to look guilty

Or just take the advice from my first post.
Air bricks are usually used to air the foundations of a property. Usually at floor level or below. Do not cover these as it will lead to damp in the foundations of the house. If they are elsewhere it is probably to allow ventilation.
If you remove these you may well get damp patches forming due to condensation.
It will be ok to cover them temporarily but for the longer term they are probably there for a reason.
Edited by: "WoolyM" 10th Dec 2011
Original Poster
gonna buy a couple of 'flood' protection covers, then if i notice any problem, can easily be removed
webby443