Do I need to declare £600 a year income?

Found 27th FebEdited by:"WestMidlands"
Hi

I'm a University student and as part of my studies, I have learnt some ways of earning a small income (more a of a hobby).

I sometimes sell some software I write, which brings in about £300 every six months. Which is £600 per year.

Do I need to declare this to the government, if so how do I declare it?

How much tax would I have to pay on this?

Note: This is the only 'earning' income that I have. My other living comes from scholarships, and this isn't considered income as it is educational grants.
Community Updates
Ask
13 Comments
I doubt you would need to , it is less than 11500 a year which I believe is *roughly* the minimum amount needed to be earned annually to pay tax upon
you should declare all I believe but you wont pay tax until 11,500 per year
doesn't look like it from the following link

gov.uk/sel…urn
I think it's 2900 or 2600 per yer or more needs declaring under this doesn't.
Original Poster
MynameisM27th Feb

I think it's 2900 or 2600 per yer or more needs declaring under this …I think it's 2900 or 2600 per yer or more needs declaring under this doesn't.

So I can safely deposit up to say £2600 per anum cash in to my bank account? without issues?
mutley116 m ago

doesn't look like it from the following …doesn't look like it from the following linkhttps://www.gov.uk/self-assessment-tax-returns/who-must-send-a-tax-return

Sorry must been 2500 got mixed up with something else.
WestMidlands3 m ago

So I can safely deposit up to say £2600 per anum cash in to my bank …So I can safely deposit up to say £2600 per anum cash in to my bank account? without issues?

Not sure where your going with that one. U still supposed to ring there helpline it's very weird doesn't make sense.
Original Poster
MynameisM15 m ago