Driving abroad advice

Found 16th Sep 2017
Hi all, as the title suggests Im seeking advice on driving abroad. I have been on holiday a few times in the past and never really fancied driving overseas but the last couple of holidays it's starting to appeal to me to go further and see more.
I drive a lot of miles in my job, up and down the Uk and I would like to think I'm a reasonable driver. However, I don't feel confident about driving away abroad. Any books or websites I could look at? I have "had a google" but most sites I have found talk about how to prepare your car for overseas and not how to drive it when you get there.

Many thanks in advance for any advice offered.

1. Ask
Groups
  1. Ask
11 Comments

I really think you are over thinking it. You learn so many things before you pass your test that driving on the other side of the road takes all of 2 seconds to get used to. I've had a left hand drive car for nearly two years and when I bought it I pretty much instantly got used to it, just need to watch you road positioning especially at junctions.

Very easy. If driving on the right side and using a hire car just remember that the the passenger side is near the kerb and the driver side is near the white line. Make sure you always park on the side that you are traveling and never on the opposite side so when you return to your car you do not make a mistake.

Original Poster

Thanks for the replies,
I do drive a lot of miles in a variety of vehicles week in week out. Just this week I covered over 1200 miles.. however I just have this dread of getting it wrong and having or causing an accident. Especially with my "british" language skills. Only so far I can take talking slowly and loudly..