Ebay Buyer Says My New With Tags Item Smells Of Cologne / Is Used! I'm Shocked

Posted 26th Nov 2022 (Posted 5 h, 11 m ago)
Beginning to wonder now if I will have to do an ebay tale of woe weekly thread...

I am quite new to ebay and have sold a few items so far.

A few days ago, I sold a New With Tags jacket. I had to take it out the packing (briefly) as one ebayer wanted me to measure it for him (thought he was going to buy, but he then disappeared).

Obviously, it was still tagged and unworn.

Today I got a message that absolutely left me speechless. He's saying it's worn and smells of cologne! I got this message and pictures:

Hi there, I have received the jacket today and when I opened it I could smell Mens cologne and signs that it was used. Please see pictures
4038070_1.jpg4038070_1.jpg4038070_1.jpgYes, I see bits of fluff on it (it was measured on a carpeted floor) but that is all the "use" it has had - it was out its packet for mere minutes, that's it.

I am very honest with sellers as I know how nitpicky ebayers can be. It has absolutely not been worn and if it smells of cologne it can only be his! I'm wondering if his sending pictures without the tags is intentional.

I am shocked and quite upset by this turn of events, as from a remote seller point of view, it's a he said-she said situation.

Turns out he messaged me as I compiled this post. I told him I was upset and I am scrupulous about descriptions - if he is unhappy with the garment or it doesn't fit, fair enough, return it. But I absolutely refuse to accept a lie directed at me. I assume he's going to leave a Neg:

My dear I am not alleging anything it is the way I see it. Anyway just leave it as it is. Just a piece of advise, next time you received a message from a buyer would be nice to hear the complaint first and then try to deal with in a nice way. Have a good day