Expired

ebay buyer wants a return

Found 28th Sep 2013
I sold a non working laptop for spares/parts, clearly stated that the screen doesn't work and hardrive not included. The buyer has messaged me saying he wants a refund/return. I'm a new seller, bought stuff but never really sold, so paypal have withheld the money for I think 21 days. Where do I stand in this case? What shall I do?

Thanks
Community Updates
Ask
29 Comments
Surely he has a right to return his items? He just won't be refunded for postage and package.
Did he give a reason? What return policy did you have?
If you buy a item as spares or repairs you can't expect a refund
Thats what I thought 'emodan', he said because he can't fix it, he wants a refund. My return policy was 'no returns'. Confusing especially as its my first time selling.
If you buy anything you can ask for a refund. Maybe they were wrong spare parts? I still see nothing in him asking. I wouldn't refund p&p though as it's not a fault or wrong item etc.
Hmm if you stated no refunds and there was no fault your end , I would say you would be ok assuming he bought exactly what he expected and what you advertised.
state clearly that you are because you (the seller) is not at fault (the item is as described) and your policy is no returns, the buyer will not be getting a refund.
If paypal force you to give a refund just be aware that the buyer may not send the broken laptop back, they can send any old shizzle, so be careful when you sign for any parcel that you may think is the returned laptop and feel for the weight and size. Some postman may let you open it before signing by put that is unusual.
On eBay stating 'no refunds' is pointless as it is never taken into account. If the buyer opens a dispute, eBay will tell the buyer to return the item recorded delivery and when proof of postage is given, eBay will refund the buyer.