eBay Condition, pictures vs description?

Posted 29th May 2020
Can I please have some eBay buying/selling advice please? It’s not like I’m new to this, been on eBay for over 15 years. I just feel buyers and sellers expectations and rights have evolved over time.

When buying on eBay, given that pictures can be selective or poor. While at the same time the description can be ambiguous.

What would you say was more accurate to gauge the condition of a purchase on eBay before taking the plunge?

If it arrives and isn’t quite what you had in your head. What do you enforce the condition on, pictures or description?

On the flip side. What do you feel most confident in using to convey the condition of something you’re selling?

I’m planning on listing a few items and making a few largish purchases and don’t want to get stung, with errors on my behalf.
Community Updates
Ask
19 Comments
Both
Feedback... or simply a message, add to watch list and then go back to ebay watch list and message them.. say sorry I don't want to waste your time sending it as I am looking for good condition can you confirm if there is scratches ect ect... if they dont reply then dont buy simples
Gumbon29/05/2020 08:58

Feedback... or simply a message, add to watch list and then go back to …Feedback... or simply a message, add to watch list and then go back to ebay watch list and message them.. say sorry I don't want to waste your time sending it as I am looking for good condition can you confirm if there is scratches ect ect... if they dont reply then dont buy simples

I see your point. My concern is what if they disclose damage but aren’t very specific.
I’m willing to buy used but everyone’s definition of fair, good, excellent and like new varies.
Would a phone with a scratched back but perfect screen be excellent?