Ebay "make an offer"

Found 7th Jun
Has anyone used this? What sort of discount should you be asking for and what have you been successful with? Is it like a bartering system where you start low and meet in the middle? Or is your offer just rejected?

I've never used this feature before.
Community Updates
Ask
9 Comments
deleted1132166
You have the opportunity to make just 3 offers.
First offer 25% lower. Seller will most likely reject your offer and can counter offer.
Counter offer will give you good idea what they want
See this thread from yesterday HUKD which touches on similar halfway through.

Just be aware that from 12hrs before the listing ends someone bids in the auction option then the listing automatically goes to bids only and any best offers by you or counter offers by the seller are void.
Search for same item and find out what the cheapest 'buy now' price is, watch auctions for same item and see what they are actually selling for and use these figures as your guide.

Often sellers use the best offer option just to create more interest in there listing, more traffic towards themselves, whilst often only accepting offers marginally below the buy now.
andynicol7 m ago

Search for same item and find out what the cheapest 'buy now' price is, …Search for same item and find out what the cheapest 'buy now' price is, watch auctions for same item and see what they are actually selling for and use these figures as your guide.Often sellers use the best offer option just to create more interest in there listing, more traffic towards themselves, whilst often only accepting offers marginally below the buy now.

Thanks for the quick replies.

The item I'm after is also produced by the seller, I was thinking a 5% discount would work but 10% probably not. I'll start it at 15% and see how it goes. I was just unsure how the system worked and if I bid too low that was it so thanks for the 3 attempts.
Hopefully he’ll counter offer on each attempt.