Expired

eBay Seller trying to pull out of sale after I won item...help please ?

Found 15th Feb 2014
Hello, I just won a item on eBay, and after winning got a response from seller that they had talked to eBay customer support and were advised to contact me direct. This is what he said in his message : *********
"apologise for this but I am new to selling on eBay and I have made a mistake with the listing. I thought that when a buy it now price was put on there , that was the reserve price. I now know that is not the case. I was expecting my item to show cancelled and not to go through at that bid price.
I am struggling to let it go at that price and request your acceptance for me to withdraw the item ". ***********
Now he sold about three or four things back in 2007 and then a couple recently, but has been an eBayer a long time. The item was listed on eBay, on the 8th, and ended this evening.
My feeling is that he just does not like the price he ended up with. The listing does not even show a buy it now price. I have not paid yet, and will contact eBay support tomorrow.
But where do I stand as the buyer ?, as I really want the item, and think this is just awful behaviour.
Any thoughts.....Please can you help......?
Community Updates
Ask
51 Comments
Where do you stand nowhere, you can't make him send the item basically
All you can do is get a strike against his name which in the grand term of things means nothing
Edited by: "winifer" 15th Feb 2014
i think u cant force him to sell .......same happened to me last year i won the bid and the guy said his girlfriend has already sold stuff to someone ...i couldnt do anything other then leave a GREAT feedback lolz.
seems like a genuine mistake, give the guy a break and cancel it
Original Poster
I wouldn't mind, but just think this is despicable behaviour, I mean it's been listed for a week, and he could have pulled the item at anytime before it closed.....
So much for eBay protection then huh !