Ebay voucher - but can only use "In-app" ???

Posted 8th Jun
I'd really like to ask someone who has knowledge in this area - Why?

I have no experience in using the Ebay "App" and have no wish to either. I am just curious as to why they offer this and what they get out of it? I received an Email with a £10 off a £20 spend - but ONLY valid if using their app. Why can't it be used via their normal website service - i.e. why limit it to the app only? What is their motive for pushing users towards the app, over the normal PC-browser accessed site? I'd happily spend via them on a normal computer vs phone app so they are effectively 'losing' my custom by limiting me to a particular platform.

If you can help put me straight, thanks.
Community Updates
Ask
Top comments
Download the app and use the voucher, then uninstall the app.

Apps require lots of permissions on your phone and they can gather more data for them to use than using a desktop PC, which could be one reason why they want people to use the app.
33 Comments
Download the app and use the voucher, then uninstall the app.

Apps require lots of permissions on your phone and they can gather more data for them to use than using a desktop PC, which could be one reason why they want people to use the app.
NCIS08/06/2020 13:47

Download the app and use the voucher, then uninstall the app.Apps require …Download the app and use the voucher, then uninstall the app.Apps require lots of permissions on your phone and they can gather more data for them to use than using a desktop PC, which could be one reason why they want people to use the app.

Cheers NCIS. No, I have no interest in using their app. I don't do "apps" Hehe. Just a personal choice. I am just interested in the logic behind enticing you towards using that platform over the normal computer-accessed site. It's been a LONG time since I ever had a 'voucher' offer and then I get one but it's 'limited' in it's use.