ECDL qualification

Found 18th May 2009
Im looking at completing one of these as i am out of work and its something else to add to my Cv. As I have a HND in Computing i guess i would find this relatively easy.

Has anyone with a good knowledge of computers done this?

How long did it take you?

Was it difficult?

Thanks

1. Misc
Groups
  1. Misc
40 Comments

My OH did it, with limited computer experience, and knew more than the assessor!

i have it a basic ECDL qualification,

It basically tells you what a mouse is...

There are a few things that you learn, but it's all pretty basic stuff i found. Should be done in weeks instead of months i would say...

i done it a few years back, it was very very basic, could be done in a few days by someone whos up on computers and good at typing, problem is most companies dont recognise it as a qualification.

I wanted it and was told it was so basic I didn't need it.

Hi there,

As an ICT teacher, I really cannot see the merit in this course if it is at Level 2 (GCSE Standard). I would suggest that you look at the OCR Nationals in ICT course instead which is MUCH cheaper (about £30 max to register) and lots of colleges can do this with you. It also can be completed in about 15 hours. The first, mandatory) unit is all about ICT in Business so is relevant if you are looking to improve your ICT skills for work. Hope this is of use

Will

I did this through learn direct and stopped after a few weeks, I have good pc knowledge and it was like an insult some of the early stuff as it is aimed at people with little experience in the early parts of the course. I also found that because I have been using pcs for as long as I can remember you get set in your own ways of doing things but when doing this course it was their way and no other way even if you got the the correct answer quicker than they did if you know what i mean.
Good for beginners and only good for experienced if you want a certificate to add to the cv.

Banned